Dr. Veera Sundararaghavan Promoted to Professor of Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Veera Sundararaghavan is promoted to professor of aerospace engineering, with tenure.

The Department of Aerospace Engineering takes great pleasure in announcing that Dr. Veera Sundararaghavan has been promoted to professor of aerospace engineering, with tenure, effective September 1, 2020.

Dr. Sundararaghavan came to the U-M Department of Aerospace Engineering in 2007 as an assistant professor and was promoted to associate professor in 2013. He has taught courses such as Mechanics of Aircraft Structures, Aircraft and Spacecraft Structures, Finite Element Analysis, Foundations of Solid and Structural Mechanics, Plates and Shells and Atomistic modeling of materials.

Dr. Veera Sundararaghavan with his students.

Having received his PhD in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Cornell University (’07), Sundararaghavan’s research interests include Integrated Computational Materials Engineering (ICME), multi-length scale computational techniques for modeling and designing aerospace materials with a focus on microstructural mechanics, and new computational techniques using machine learning and quantum computing algorithms that have the potential to revolutionize how to handle computation in the material sciences. Sundararaghavan is the director of the multiscale structural simulations laboratory in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and has advised 14 PhD candidates. As a member of the Center for PRedictive Integrated Structural Materials Science (PRISMS Center), part of US government’s Materials Genome Initiative, Sundararaghavan has led the development of the PRISMS plasticity suite of massively parallel, open-source computational tools capable of integrated multi-scale computational simulations for predicting microstructural evolution and mechanical behavior of metals and alloys. He has closely worked with leading aerospace industries such as Pratt and Whitney and Boeing towards development of advanced materials simulation capabilities. 

Dr. Sundararaghavan is the author of over 75 journal articles and his awards include the 2010 NSF CAREER award, 2012 DTRA Young Investigator Award, 2018 Defense Innovation award, and the 2019 AFRL Summer Faculty Fellowship. In addition, he is a lifetime member of AIAA, TMS, and ASME.


Michigan Aerospace logo

Michigan Aerospace Engineering

Communications Team