Professor Iain Boyd awarded 2018 AIAA Thermophysics Award

Congratulations to Professor Iain Boyd, recipient of 2018 AIAA Thermophysics Award

Congratulations to Aerospace Engineering Professor Iain Boyd, recipient of the 2018 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Thermophysics Award.

Iain Boyd, Professor of Aerospace Engineering

Established in 1975, the Thermophysics Award is presented to researchers who have contributed significant technical or scientific work in thermophysics – specifically in applications of thermal energy transfer.

Professor Boyd has been recognized for “contributions to the development and application of detailed physical models and advanced computational methods for numerical simulation of gas flows in thermochemical nonequilibrium.” At the University of Michigan, Professor Boyd teaches undergraduate and graduate level courses in gas dynamics and directs research at the Nonequilibrium Gas and Plasma Dynamics Laboratory, where his research interests include hypersonic aerothermodynamics, electric propulsion, rocket plumes and computation of nonequilibrium gas and plasma dynamics.

Research is the product of a group’s effort, so Professor Boyd expresses his gratitude to his student researchers:

“An award of this type recognizes all the great research productivity from the graduate students and postdocs that have participated in my group at Michigan over the years. One of the most rewarding aspects of these occasions is the opportunity to share the good news with these alumni, and to thank them for all their contributions.”


Michigan Aerospace logo

Michigan Aerospace Engineering

Communications Team